Blog Tour: Parched by Georgia Clark Review + Giveaway

A themed tour with†Prism Book Tours.

 

ParchedParched
by Georgia Clark
YA Romantic Sci-Fi
Hardcover, 312 Pages
March 14th 2014 by Holiday House
Goodreads

 

Robots, renewable resources, and romance get tangled together in this thrilling futuristic adventure novel about a utopian city struggling to keep its peace.

 

“Bold futurist adventure with unusual romance, riveting action and ominous ecological red flags.” óKirkus Reviews

 

Amazon†-†Barnes and Noble†-†Indie Bound

 

Georgia Clark†is an Australian writer and performer based in Brooklyn. She is the author of the young adult novels SHEíS WITH THE BAND (Allen & Unwin) and sci-fi/romance PARCHED (Holiday House). Widely published online and in print. Won some awards/grants/residencies. Has a play on at the NY Fringe festival. Pretty keen on cheese plates.

 

Website†-†Goodreads†-†Facebook†-†Twitter

 

Georgia is gearing up to teach a short, online writing class about writing sci-fi through a Lit Reactor course. Want to go check it out and join? Go†HERE! Begins January 14th.

 

MY REVIEW:

One of my goals for 2015—besides to read more and to post about more books!—is to delve more into science fiction. Kicking off that goal was giving Georgia Clark’s Parched a try. Fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and similar fare would find something to love about Parched.

For me, the huge draw was the idea of two very different societies: Eden and the Badlands. The aptly-named Eden is a life of luxury, while the Badlands have digusting food and unhealthy drinking water.

Parched follows a teenager named Tess who was born in Eden, but decides to give up her life there after the death of her mother. Part of the thrill of reading the book was finding out the circumstances behind Tess’s mother’s death…there was definitely more to it than meets the eye, and when all was finally reviewed it was a bit of a shock.

Tess eventually finds her way back to Eden by way of a rebel group called the Kudzu, who has an interest in the project that Tess’s mother was working on at the time of her death. It takes some convincing before Tess becomes truly loyal to the cause: It means betraying the trust of her uncle, and jeopardizing her friendship with Hunter, her uncle’s handsome young assistant.

After I finished reading Parched, all I could think was “wow.” There is so much to take in here, between the richly thought-out world, the customs of each society, and the intricate relationships between all of the characters. The hints are all there if you read carefully; I unfortunately had to keep putting the book down due to a busy schedule, but I plan on reading Parched again at a later date. Georgia Clark is most definitely an author I will be looking out for. I’m excited to see the direction she will take with this action-packed series.

 

Tour-Wide Giveaway

$20 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
Signed copy of†Parched†(US only)
Ends January 25th

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Follow the January Tour!
6 -†Hope To Read†&†Book N Blog
7 -†Kelly P’s Blog†&†Coffee Books & Art
8 -†Book-Marks the Spot,†The Written Adventure†&†Mel’s Shelves
9 -†I Am A Reader†&†Katy’s Krazy Books
11 -†Welcome to Book City
12 -†My Life Loves and Passion†&†Literally Jen
13 -†Bookish Events
14 -†Typical Distractions
15 -†Lilac Reviews†&†Wishful Endings
16 -†The Review Notes†&†Deal Sharing Aunt

Prism Book Tours

Leave a Reply